Hopeful Finisher – Tough Mudder – Whistler 2015

IMG_9987

Well, I am not sure what I was thinking but I have been talked into registering for the Whistler Tough Mudder next June. I am on a team with Trevor, my cousin’s husband Jason and his brother so far. We named our team “Hopeful Finishers” and that about sums it up, we will be hopeful that we can complete.

I try not to commit to events that far away but there is a sale right now on the entry fees, so we went for it. I have 10 months to train for it, so no problem, right? Yikes, what have I done? I am excited but I am trying to stay focused on my first event which is the Goodlife 8K Road Race. I was hoping that I would be running the entire race but because of my weight training has been difficult so if it ends up being a run/walk for me, I can live with that.

Once I have the 8K under my belt, I am going to set my sights on the TC10K in April. I would hope to run the full 10K by then, if not, then I will be in trouble for the Tough Mudder in June which is around 16K with very scary obstacles. 🙂

I have a lot of work to do to get prepared for all of these events but I am happy they are all coming in order of distance and difficulty. I regretted not signing up for the Mud Mulisha that Trevor, Taylor and Mitchell just did, that would have been a good event to do prior to a Tough Mudder.

With all these upcoming events and the training required for them, I am hoping my weight loss will continue strong. I am now about half way to my goal, but I know that last 30lbs or so will get harder and harder to take off. Good thing I will be training my ass off for these events!

If anyone is interested in joining our team “Hopeful Finishers” send me a private message and I will send you the info but know that we won’t be the serious team, so if you care about your time, you may opt to find a different team.

Published by robynnedevine

In 2020 I completed an MA in Interdisciplinary Studies with a specialization in Leadership in Organizational Culture at Royal Roads University. I am currently working in higher education for BCcampus as a Senior Project Manager for Collaborative Projects. I lead a coaching community of practice at my workplace which I developed as part of my Masters.

Leave a comment